Carrick History Society
Comman Eachdraidh Charraige

A conservation village set in a picturesque landscape of rolling hills, it became a parish in 1653 when it was was disjoined from Dailly, Girvan, and Colmonell.

In the churchyard, a stone commemorates Edward MacKean, a Covenanter, shot in 1685. At Kirkdominie in the parish, styled in Latin deeds “Capella Sanctae Trinitatis de Kildomine” there was a Chapel of the Holy Trinity, with a Holy Well. The ruins of the chapel stand on high ground overlooking the River Stinchar. Here was held annually the Fair of Kirkdominie, on Trinity Sunday, but was changed in Protestant times to the last Sunday of May.